( CNN) The heads of at the least 21 positions have announced they will not accept Syrian refugees. The positions wander from Alabama and Georgia, to Texas and Arizona, to Michigan and Illinois, to Maine and New Hampshire.

The announcements, coming overwhelmingly by Republican leaders, came as governments been demonstrated that at least one of the suspects believed to be involved in the Paris terrorist attacks participated Europe among the current wave of Syrian refugees. He had falsely determined himself as a Syrian named Ahmad al Muhammadand was allowed to enter Greece in early October.

Some leaders say they either oppose taking in any Syrian refugees being relocated as part of their own nationals program or would like to request that they be particularly scrutinized as potential security threats.

Only 1, 500 Syrian refugees have been accepted into the United States since 2011, but the Obama administration announced in September that 10,000 Syrians will be allowed entering next year.


Obama: Subjecting refugees to religion exam ‘shameful’